Thanks

Default Slimfast and Pcos

Dear Cysters

Has anyone had success with slimfast. I have just been put on metformin 1500mg and Reductil 15mg per day and wondered if Slimfast was ok to use. Im a complete Newb when it comes to Carb allowances per day and help would be most appreciated.

My doctor was most surprised when i said i wasnt looking to loose weight to get Pg and that i just didnt want to be 97kg and 5ft4 anymore. Ive already given up all the foods i enjoy...take-away food, sweets, crisps, sugary fizzy drinks and i exercise regularly as long as my weak ankle joints and arthritic knees allow (you wouldnt believe im only 31 i sound about 90) so i feel im giving it a good stab.

Any advice would rule.....

Hugs and Kisses

Emma
    London UK

Thanks

Hi Emma! Nice to meet ya!

I'm not an expert, but I would definitely not recommend Slim Fast for anyone with blood sugar regulation issues, let alone someone on Metformin. Slim Fast is very low calorie and just two measly shakes all day. For someone on met this sounds like a recipe for low bloodsugar to me. Dangerously so.

I did try Slim Fast out of desperation when I was about 120 lbs heavier and had no appetite. I figured it was better than literally fasting, which was what I was doing. I suffered many blood sugar swings while on it; complete with migraines and just feeling awful. I didn't lose any weight either, to add insult to injury.

Any chance of seeing a nutritionist to help you out with learning the ropes? If not, perhaps you could look into some books like the IR Diet book. Personally a diet called the "Zone" diet seems to work the best for me. I'm pretty sure there are threads on it here, but if you can't find them searching the net for "zone diet" should bring up the website that explains it all. Not only is it helping me lose weight, but the IR/PCOS symptoms are improving as well.

I wish you luck in figuring out the right diet for you. It can be very confusing to say the least!

Thanks