Thanks

Default Provera and Acne

I'm a newbie! I was diagnosed with PCOS several days ago (sigh) and the doctor prescribed Provera tablets to me in order to induce menstruation. I was on BCP for several years and experienced regular periods during that time, but ever since coming off in January, haven't had a single period! I've been told that I will have my period several days following a 10-day cycle of Provera. I'm very sensitive about my skin, and am worried about Provera causing a huge breakout. It would be devastating for me, on top of the diagnosis. As Provera is essentially progestin, would it cause or increase acne? Has anyone ever taken Provera, and were there effects in terms of acne? Please let me know, thanks!

Still TTC my first angel! lovleylady300's Avatar
    Thanks

I am taking provera now and I have broken out BIGTIME!!!! I already have mild to moderate acne and use Proactive solution and it usually keep it in check. But whenever I take provera the big pimples pop up on me!!! Sorry I didn't have better news---maybe you will be OK!
    I am 32 and DH is 35Hidden Content
    TTC#1 for 5 years
    Clomid--- did not respond
    injectables (Follistim) w/ IUI 4x-- no success
    IVF#1--failed
    IVF#2--failed
    IVF#3--embryos did not make it to transfer
    two cancelled IVF cycles due to high e2.
    List of meds:
    Avandia--2mg 2x/day
    Synthroid--125mcg a day
    Spiro--100mg/day
    Ovarian Drilling on 12/16/2003

Thanks